Home is wherever we are if there’s nothing too

Home

Jack Johnson

best to listen to when: You are thinking about going home for Thanksgiving break 

I’ve got to get home there’s a garden to tend.
There’s fruit on the ground and the birds have all moved back
Into my attic with whistling static
When the young learn to fly I will patch all the holes up again.

Well I can’t believe that my lime tree is dead.
I thought it was sleeping, I guess it got fed up with not being fed
And I would be too.
I need food in my belly and hope that my time isn’t soon.

And so I’ll try to understand what I can’t hold in my hands
And wherever we are home is there too.
And if you could try to find it too ’cause this place is overgrowing
to whacks and gloom
Home is wherever we are if there’s nothing too.

In the back of house is trail that won’t end.
We’ve been walking so far that it grew back in
There’s no trail at all only grass growing tall
And I’ll get out my machete and battle with time once again,
But I’m bound to lose ’cause I’ll be damned if time don’t win.

I got to get home there’s a garden to tend
All the seeds from the fruit bear Eden
Begin their own family trees, teach them thank you and please
As they spread their own roots then watch the young fruit grow again
And this old trail will lead me right back to where it begins.

And so I’ll try to understand what I can’t hold in my hand
And whatever I find, I’ll find my way back to you.
And if you could try to find it too ’cause this place is overgrowing
to whacks and gloom.
Home is wherever we are if there’s nothing too

2 Comments

Filed under States

2 responses to “Home is wherever we are if there’s nothing too

  1. I like your blog, have you considered adding and RSS feed feature? That will allow me to get automatic updates of new layouts. If you set up notifications via RSS, please email me! I will fav your design for now. Again Excellent topic!

  2. What did you use to design your layout? It’s really awesome can you send me an email and let me know?

Leave a Reply

